Myanmar Border Crossings

Myanmar Border Crossings

Myanmar has borders with India, Bangladesh, China, Laos and Thailand. Nationals of a hundred countries can easily obtain the eVisa to travel to Myanmar for tourism or business. The online visa can be used to enter Myanmar through several different air and land entry points. Applying for an eVisa will take eligible travelers a few minutes, once the traveler has an approved eVisa they will be able to enter Myanmar via eight different ports: three airports and five land border-crossings.

Currently the borders with Laos and Bangladesh are closed to foreigners.

The crossing between Myanmar (Muse) and China (Ruili, Yunnan Province) was closed again in 2018. Previously it was open but only by obtaining a special permit with a guide and private transport.

Can I Enter Myanmar with My eVisa at Any Point of Entry?

The Myanmar eVisa is an electronic travel authorization that grants entry to the country at various ports of entry. The eVisa for Myanmar can be used to enter the territory through the following points:

Myanmar eVisa holders traveling by air can enter the country through:

  • Yangon International Airport
  • Nay Pyi Taw International Airport
  • Mandalay International Airport

Myanmar eVisa holders traveling by land can enter the country through:

Myanmar – Thailand Land Border

  • Myawaddy Land Border Checkpoint
  • Tachileik Land Border Checkpoint
  • Kawthaung Land Border Checkpoint

Myanmar – India Land Border

  • Rihkhawdar Land Border Checkpoint
  • Tamu Land Border Checkpoint

This eVisa was introduced on September 1st, 2014, to simplify the process of applying for a visa to travel to Myanmar. The Myanmar online visa allows its holder to visit the country for tourism and business purposes and for stays of up to 90 days from the day it was issued.

Myanmar Land Borders for Tourists

The border crossings between Myanmar and Thailand, and Myanmar and India allow tourists to move freely, as long as they have the necessary entry requirements and travel documents, including a valid passport and an approved Myanmar eVisa.

The border crossing between Laos and Myanmar is remote, and at this time, foreigners are not advised to try to cross the border here. The Myanmar borders with Bangladesh and China are currently closed to foreign visitors.

Thailand-Myanmar Border Crossings

There are four main border crossing points between Myanmar and Thailand that are open to foreign visitors. Three of these points allow travelers to enter Myanmar with the eVisa.

The Myawaddy – Mae Sot Border Point

When traveling from Thailand to Myanmar, this border crossing is the most practical one to enter Myanmar. It is relatively close to Myanmar’s transport network and several Burma attractions, such as Mount Kyaiktiyo, Mawlamyine, and Hpa.

To enter Myanmar, foreigners can head to the respective window and present their travel documents. There is a different window designated for locals.

The Tachileik – Sai Border Point

The Tachileik – Sai border crossing allows foreign travelers to enter Myanmar with an approved eVisa. Tachileik has airports with internal flights to other main cities in the country. Visitors who cross the border here will discover that Tachileik relies heavily on cross-border trade as well as tourism, most people here will use the Thai Baht instead of the Myanmar currency, the Kyat.

The Kawthaung – Ranong Border Point

This is another good alternative to cross the border from Thailand to Myanmar. Visitors can take buses or flights to Myeik, Dawei, and north to Yangon. Here, travelers are able to cross between Kawthaung and Ranon with a longtail boat, which is not expensive. The immigration office in Kawthaung is located in the town center.

India – Myanmar Border Crossings

If travelers wish to enter Myanmar through India, there are two border crossings where they can do so with a valid Myanmar online visa.

Tamu – Moreh Border Point

Tamu is a small town, however, transport is available to continue traveling to other destinations in Myanmar. Travelers will find hotels and restaurants where to eat and drink typical Burmese food before continuing the trip. To enter Myanmar, they will need to present their valid passport and must have already applied online for the Myanmar eVisa.

Rikhawdar – Zokhawtar Border Point

The government of Myanmar opened this border crossing to improve trade with the Chin State, in the northwestern Chin State. Travelers will encounter natural beauty in this area, near the Rikhawdar village it is possible to visit the Rih Lake, which is shaped like a heart. The eVisa will be accepted to cross the border and enter Myanmar territory.

Traveling by Air with the Myanmar eVisa

Foreign nationals who wish to enter Myanmar by air, can present their eVisa at any of the the following airports: Yangon International Airport, Nay Pyi Taw International Airport, and Mandalay International Airport.

The electronic visa system was designed to improve the processing of visitor visas and also contribute to better and smoother immigrations checks at all selected entry ports.

Applying for an eVisa is a fairly simple process, which requires that the applicant has a valid passport, an email address, and a debit or credit card. Completing the Myanmar online visa application will take eligible travelers a few minutes. They will have to provide their personal information and passport data. Once approved, the eVisa is sent to the traveler via email. The traveler can then, proceed to print a copy of the eVisa to present at the specified border crossings.


On March 19, the Myanmar government announced the temporary suspension of entry and exit of foreign nationals through any land borders with Thailand, Laos, China, India, and Bangladesh due to Myanmar’s travel restrictions by the COVID-19.