Myanmar Embassies Around the World

myanmar embassies

A Myanmar embassy is a diplomatic mission representing the nation formerly known as Burma in another part of the world.

They perform a full range of consular services, including giving assistance and support to Burmese citizens abroad and providing information and visa services to foreign nationals who plan to visit Myanmar.

Myanmar maintains a number of diplomatic missions, including various embassies and consulates in major cities around the world. Embassies are typically located in the capitals, while consulates may be found in other important locations.

Discover where Myanmar embassies and other diplomatic missions are located and the services they provide in this quick guide.

What Functions Do Myanmar Embassies Perform?

Myanmar embassies perform a number of functions.

Firstly, they provide diplomatic representation for the country abroad and a location for the Burmese Ambassador and other diplomats to work and stay.

Myanmar embassies provide support and consular services to Burmese nationals abroad and can help with issues such as replacing a lost passport, repatriating them to Myanmar, and providing legal protection, since the authorities of the host country cannot enter the embassy without permission.

Myanmar embassies also provide consular services for foreign nationals seeking to visit the country. These include:

Embassy Visas for Myanmar

Although the easiest way to obtain authorization to visit the country is with the online Myanmar eVisa, nationals of some countries are not eligible and must therefore apply in person at an embassy.

Travelers from these countries must make an appointment at a Myanmar embassy and bring supporting documents, including the following items:

  • Valid passport and photocopy
  • 2 recent passport-style photographs
  • Birth certificate (if the applicant is under 15 years of age)
  • Business card (if applicable)
  • Payment method for the fee
  • Appointment letter

The applicant must also fill out and submit a Myanmar embassy visa application form.

Any foreign citizen, regardless of nationality, who wants to live and/or work in the country must obtain their residence and/or work visa from a Myanmar embassy.

However, nationals of countries that are eligible for the electronic visa for tourism and/or business visits and meet the Myanmar electronic Visa requirements are advised to apply online, since the process is much faster and easier than applying at an embassy.

Such travelers can simply complete a Myanmar eVisa application form online from any location with an internet connection. The process takes a matter of minutes and the approved eVisa is usually received within a few business days.

How Many Myanmar Embassies Are There in the World?

Myanmar has 37 official embassies in different countries around the world. It also has 21 consulates and 2 other diplomatic representations, including a representative office in Taiwan and a mission in Brussels for the European Union (EU).

Consulates perform some of the same functions as embassies, but usually offer fewer services and are considered less important. However, they are still useful for providing information and assistance.

Asia and Europe have the greatest number of Burmese embassies and consulates, but Myanmar has diplomatic missions on every continent (apart from Antarctica).

How Can I Find a Myanmar Embassy Near Me?

Myanmar embassies are usually found in the capital of a country, although some other major cities may have a consulate.

Some countries do not have a Burmese embassy, but have a consulate instead, while others have no diplomatic missions belonging to Myanmar at all. In this case, the nearest Myanmar embassy may be in a neighboring country.

All of the cities that host Myanmar embassies and consulates around the world can be found in the lists below.

Myanmar Embassies and Consulates in Africa

The following African cities each host a Myanmar embassy. Residents of other African countries will have to travel to these embassies if they need to go to a Burmese diplomatic mission:

  • Egypt – Cairo
  • South Africa – Pretoria

Myanmar Embassies and Consulates in Asia

Myanmar has embassies in the following Asian capitals:

  • Bangladesh – Dhaka
  • Brunei – Bandar Seri Begawan
  • Cambodia – Phnom Penh
  • China – Beijing
  • India – New Delhi
  • Indonesia – Jakarta
  • Israel – Tel Aviv
  • Japan – Tokyo
  • South Korea – Seoul
  • Kuwait – Kuwait City
  • Laos – Vientiane
  • Malaysia – Kuala Lumpur
  • Nepal – Kathmandu
  • Pakistan – Islamabad
  • Philippines – Manila
  • Saudi Arabia – Riyadh
  • Singapore – Singapore
  • Sri Lanka – Colombo
  • Thailand – Bangkok
  • Vietnam – Hanoi

There are also Myanmar consulates and other representation in various other major cities in Asia:

  • Bangladesh – Chittagong (Consulate General)
  • China – Kunming (Consulate General)
  • China – Nanning (Consulate General)
  • Hong Kong – Hong Kong (Consulate General)
  • India – Chennai (Consulate)
  • India – Kolkata (Consulate General)
  • Japan – Kobe (Consulate)
  • South Korea – Busan (Consulate General)
  • Lebanon – Beirut (Consulate)
  • Taiwan – Taipei (Representative Office)
  • Thailand – Chiang Mai (Consulate General)
  • Turkey – Ankara (Consulate)
  • Vietnam – Ho Chi Minh City (Consulate General)

Myanmar Embassies and Consulates in Europe

There is a Myanmar embassy in each of the following European capital cities:

  • Austria – Vienna
  • Belgium – Brussels
  • Czech Republic – Prague
  • France – Paris
  • Germany – Berlin
  • Italy – Rome
  • Norway – Oslo
  • Russia – Moscow
  • Serbia – Belgrade
  • United Kingdom – London

In addition to these, Myanmar consulates can be found in the following major cities in Europe:

  • Greece – Athens (Consulate General)
  • Italy – Florence (Consulate)
  • Italy – Turin (Consulate General)
  • Netherlands – Breda (Consulate General)
  • Switzerland – Geneva (Consulate General)

Myanmar also has a second representation in Brussels as its diplomatic mission to the European Union (EU).

Myanmar Embassies and Consulates in North America

Myanmar has overseas diplomatic missions in 3 North American countries, including both embassies and consulates in the following cities:

  • Canada – Ottawa (Embassy)
  • Canada – Toronto (Consulate)
  • Cuba – Havana (Embassy)
  • United States – Washington, D.C. (Embassy)
  • United States – Los Angeles (Consulate General)
  • United States – New York (Consulate General)

Myanmar Embassies and Consulates in South America

There are currently 2 diplomatic missions of Myanmar in South America, both located in Brazil:

  • Brazil – Brasilia (Embassy)
  • Brazil – São Paulo (Consulate General)

Myanmar Embassies and Consulates in Oceania

Myanmar currently only has one diplomatic representation in Oceania—its embassy in Australia:

  • Australia – Canberra